LS Instruments AG - Administrative Board


Prof. Frank Scheffold is a member of the administrative board

       Prof. Frank Scheffold

       President of the Board




Frank Scheffold holds a chair in physics at the University of Fribourg, Switzerland and currently acts as the president of the department. He studied at the University of Konstanz (Germany) and the Weizmann Institute of Science (Israel, with Prof. Jacob Klein). He gained his doctorate summa cum laude in 1998 from the University of Konstanz for research carried out at the Institute Charles Sadron (Strasbourg, France) and Konstanz with Prof. Georg Maret. After his habilitation at the University of Fribourg in 2003, Frank Scheffold continued his career as an associated professor. Since 2009 he holds the chair "Soft Matter and Photonics" in the physics department. His research focuses on the optics of complex systems, dynamic light scattering and diffuse light propagation, the dynamics, aggregation and phase behaviour of colloidal systems and the production and characterization of soft materials. He has authored or co-authored almost 100 research articles. He currently serves as a member of the Swiss National Research Council and the Steering Committee for "Polymers and Colloids" at the Swiss Chemical Society.


Prof. Peter Schurtenberger is a member of the administrative board

        Prof. Peter Schurtenberger

        Member of the Board



Peter Schurtenberger is currently a professor at the Division of Physical Chemistry, Lund University, Sweden. His research interests focus on soft matter physics, nanotechnology, biophysics, materials sciences and food technology, on the characterization of soft matter with scattering methods and on the development of new instruments for this task. Professor Schurtenberger received his PhD from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich. He then worked as a postdoc and research fellow at Lund University, Sweden, MIT and Harvard University Medical School. From 1987 – 1999 he was a senior researcher at the Department of Materials of ETHZ. In 1999 he was appointed as the chair in experimental soft matter physics at the University of Fribourg. In 2006 he founded the Fribourg Center for Nanomaterials and acted as its director for the first year. In 2008 he became the first director of the newly founded Adolphe Merkle Institute for pure and applied nanoscience, and received a chair in Experimental Physics and Nanoscience. He moved to Lund University at the end of 2010. He is author or co-author of more than 230 scientific publications, was or still is a member of a number of scientific boards such as the Scientific Council of the Swiss Neutron Source SINQ (chair), the Scientific Advisory Committee of SLS, the scientific council of the Institute Laue Langevin (ILL), the Swiss National Research Council, and the Liquids Board of the European Physical Society. He has been the general secretary of the European Colloid and Interface Society (ECIS) until 2010, and was subsequently elected as a honorary member of ECIS. In 2013 he became an invited fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). He received the Latsis Prize of the ETHZ in 1993, and the Rhodia Prize of the European Colloid and Interface Society in 2007. He is co-founder of the start-up company LS Instruments.